Submit A Tip Alternative Tip Form

Save space by automatically deleting downloaded update packages

Here’s a great tip for netbook users and those with limited disc space: automatically delete downloaded update packages after they’ve been installed.

Default hoarding
By default Synaptic keeps every downloaded update packages in a cache. This is especially useful for providing the ability to revert back to a earlier version of an application and for the ability to remove and reinstall applications without having to re-download the entire package again….

What if you don’t do either of those? Well you end up with a giant cache full of .deb files that can swell to several GiB’s in size.

Free up some disc space by setting Synaptic to automatically delete said packages after installing them.

  1. Open Synaptic Package Manager (System > Administration > Synaptic package manager )
  2. Open the preferences dialog via Settings > Preferences 
  3. Choose the ‘files’ tab
  4. Check ‘Delete downloaded packages after installation’.
  5. Click ‘Apply’ followed by ‘Ok’.